logo

Ensemble

The Octavians [ˌokˈteɪvɪæns] are among the best-known vocal ensembles in Germany. They are multiple prize winners of various a cappella competitions and are distinguished by their homogeneous sound and musical versatility. The Octavians’ repertoire includes sacred and secular a cappella works from over eight centuries, from the beginnings of polyphony to contemporary jazz and pop.
Over 500 concerts have taken the Octavians to all corners of Germany, including performances commissioned by the Jena Philharmonic Orchestra, the Thuringian Ministry of Culture and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. International concerts took the Octavians to Tunisia as cultural ambassadors for the Goethe Institute and to China as members of a city delegation. On further concert tours, the eight singers traveled across Europe, for example to Switzerland, England, Italy, Spain, Sweden and France.
The Octavians received their first award in 2010 when they won 1st prize in the national competition “Jugend musiziert”. A year later, the group faced international competition at the a cappella festival “Vokal total” in Graz and earned a silver diploma. This was followed in May 2014 by 3rd prize in the category “Classical Ensemble” at the German Choir Competition. The Octavians celebrated their greatest success to date in 2017, where they triumphed at the international a cappella festival in Leipzig, winning 2nd prize (with 1st prize not awarded) and the coveted audience award.
In 2011, the Octavians released their first recording “Auftakt” on the classical label “querstand”, which offered a comprehensive overview of the artistic spectrum of the singers. In 2013, “Goldene Zwanziger” was released on “Rondeau” – a tribute to the Comedian Harmonists, which also includes jazz and pop standards from the 1920s to the 1960s. In 2015, the Octavians presented their first Christmas CD, “Es naht ein Licht.” A live CD including a DVD was created from the recording of the anniversary concert in Jena’s Volkshaus, on the occasion of the group’s 10th anniversary. In cooperation with the Academic Orchestra Association Jena, the medieval stanza cycle “Kreuzleich” by Heinrich von Meißen in a modern recomposition by composer Karsten Gundermann was recorded for the first time on the label “Genuin” in 2019. The group’s latest album was released in 2021, entitled “Minutes from Centuries”, in which the group presents their favorite pieces.

Heiko Knopf

Heiko’s musical education started in the age of 7 when he became a member of the Boys’ Choir of Jena. During his schooltime he had been interested in literature, art and culture, for what reason he later emerged, additionally to singing, as an artist, voice teacher and presenter. In various projects, workshops and classes, including the GewandhausChor Leipzig and the Dresden Chamber Choir, he worked together with considerable conductors and choirmasters. These are including Riccardo Chailly, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Ekkehard Klemm, Nicolas Pasquet, Jürgen Puschbeck, Gregor Meyer, Berit Walther and Olaf Katzer. Heiko is one of the founder members and since 2008 the musical conductor of the Octavians.

Jakob Rendenbach

For Jakob it was clear from an early age that music would always be the center of his life. Thus, at the age of 6, he took his first piano lessons with Andreas Kasper, who accompanied him until his studies of school music. At the same time, he sang in many choirs throughout his life, including Capella poetica, the Basilikachor St. Paulin Trier, the Chamber Choir of the HfM Franz Liszt Weimar and VoCompany, and took voice lessons with Antonia Lutz, Uwe Götz and Martin Ulrich. At the age of 18 he won a composition competition of KultCrossing. He is active as a choir director, singer, beatboxer, arranger and music producer, among others for the vocal ensemble picturesque. So in 2020 he found his way to the Octavians in the course of some commissioned arrangements.

Matthias Mäurer

Beside a basic musical education at the Music and Art School of Jena with the beginning of his fourth year of age Matthias was musically shaped especially by his longtime membership in the Boys’ Choir Jena. There he received a comprehensive vocal education. Matthias is a founder member of the Octavians and is supporting the group as a presenter at concerts as well as at organizational concerns and public relations. Additionally to his membership at the Octavians Matthias was part of the Jena Madrigal Choir until 2011.

Clemens Risse

In his first years of age Clemens discovered his fascination and passion for music, which induced him to take classes at the Music and Art School Jena. In primary school age he introduced himself at the Boys’ Choir Jena where he was familiarized with choral and solo singing. Meanwhile he can look back on ten years of musical education. Beside Clemens established himself at the Jena Madrigal Choir. This chamber choir enabled him to witness several projects with other German choirs and music groups. 2017 Clemens joined the Octavians, which are an ambitious ensemble, where he can pursue his musical aims.

Christian Gaida

At the age of six years Christian started to play violin and participated, as a part of his musical education at the music school of Wittenberg, successfully at competitions like “Jugend musiziert” several times. He obtained a comprehensive secondary musical education at Schulpforta, where he was active for its school orchestra. His vocal abilities he trained through individual voice training and as a longtime member of the youth choir of the school. Above he sang at the „Florelegium Portense” choir under the direction of Kersten Lachmann. Subsequent he became a member of the Chamber Choir of the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar under the direction of Prof. Jürgen Puschbeck (2009-2012). There he worked together with Nicolas Pasquet and Thomaskantor Georg Christoph Biller.

Martin Kleekamp

In the year 2009 Martin, the first singer of the group’s history, who never has been a member of the Boys‘ Choir Jena, joined up to the Octavians. Prior Martin had obtained a six years piano education and had been active for the Jubilee Singers Jena for many years. Beyond he contributed at several Gospel, church and youth choirs as well as at the GewandhausChor Leipzig. Beside his vocal activity Martin has played electric bass in various bands since his 14. year of age. Within the Octavians Martin is engaging especially for organizational concerns and as a versed technician he is responsible for mixdown and audio recording at amplified concerts.

Johannes Schleußner

Johannes passed his musical education at the Music and Art School of Jena and later at the Boys‘ Choir Jena. He was a member of the Chamber Choir of the Dresden Frauenkirche and the Chamber Choir of the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar and contributed project-based at the Dresden Chamber Choir and the GewandhausChor Leipzig. As part of his singing career he worked together with Christian Thielemann, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Isaac Karabtchevsky, Jürgen Puschbeck, Matthias Grünert and Gotthold Schwarz. Johannes is a founder member of the Octavians, but left the group study-related at 2008. Since 2016 he’s back again as a Bass.

logo

Ensemble

Die Octavians [ˌokˈteɪvɪæns] gehören zu den bekanntesten Vokalensembles Deutschlands. Sie sind mehrfache Preisträger verschiedener A-cappella-Wettbewerbe und zeichnen sich durch ihren homogenen Klang und ihre musikalische Vielseitigkeit aus. Das Repertoire der Octavians umfasst geistliche und weltliche A-cappella-Werke aus über acht Jahrhunderten von den Anfängen der Mehrstimmigkeit bis zum zeitgenössischen Jazz und Pop.
Über 500 Konzerte führten die Octavians in alle Ecken der Bundesrepublik, wobei sie u.a. im Auftrag der Jenaer Philharmonie, des Thüringer Kultusministeriums und des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung auftraten. Internationale Konzerte führten die Octavians als Kulturbotschafter für das Goethe-Institut nach Tunesien und als Mitglied einer Städte-Delegation nach China. Auf weiteren Konzertreisen fuhren die acht Sänger quer durch Europa, so zum Beispiel in die Schweiz, nach England, Italien, Spanien, Schweden und Frankreich.
Ihre erste Auszeichnung erhielten die Octavians 2010 mit dem 1. Preis beim Bundeswettbewerb „Jugend musiziert“. Ein Jahr später stellte sich die Gruppe der internationalen Konkurrenz beim A-cappella-Festival „Vokal total“ in Graz und erriechte ein Silberdiplom. Im Mai 2014 folgte der 3. Preis in der Kategorie „Klassisches Ensemble“ beim Deutschen Chorwettbewerb. Ihren bis dahin größten Erfolg feierten die Octavians 2017, wo sie beim internationalen A-cappella-Festival in Leipzig siegten und den 2. Preis (bei nicht vergebenem 1. Preis) sowie den begehrten Publikumspreis gewannen.
2011 veröffentlichen die Octavians ihren ersten Tonträger „Auftakt“ beim Klassik-Label „querstand“, welcher einen umfassenden Überblick über das künstlerische Spektrum der Sänger bietet. Im Jahre 2013 erschien „Goldene Zwanziger“ bei „Rondeau“ – eine Hommage an die Comedian Harmonists, die darüber hinaus Jazz- und Pop-Standards der 20er- bis 60er-Jahre enthält. 2015 legten die Octavians ihre erste Weihnachts-CD „Es naht ein Licht“ vor. Aus der Aufzeichnung des Jubiläumskonzertes im Jenaer Volkshaus, anlässlich des 10-jährigen Bestehens der Gruppe, entstanden eine Live-CD inklusive DVD. In Kooperation mit der Akademischen Orchestervereinigung Jena wurden 2019 der mittelalterliche Strophenzyklus „Kreuzleich“ von Heinrich von Meißen in einer modernen Rekomposition des Komponisten Karsten Gundermann beim Label „Genuin“ erstmalig eingespielt. Das neueste Album der Gruppe erschien 2021 mit dem Titel  „Minuten aus Jahrhunderten“, in welchem die Gruppe ihre Lieblingsstücke präsentiert.

Heiko Knopf

Heikos musikalische Ausbildung begann im Alter von 7 Jahren als Mitglied im Knabenchor der Jenaer Philharmonie. Während seiner Schulzeit interessierte er sich vor allem für Literatur, Kunst und Kultur, weshalb er später, zusätzlich zum Gesang, als Schauspieler, Stimmbildner und Moderator in Erscheinung trat. In verschiedenen Projekten, Workshops und Kursen unter anderem im Gewandhauschor Leipzig und dem Kammerchor Dresden arbeitete er bereits mit namhaften Dirigenten und Chorleitern zusammen. So zum Beispiel Riccardo Chially, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Ekkehard Klemm, Nicolas Pasquet, Jürgen Puschbeck, Gregor Meyer, Berit Walther und Olaf Katzer. Heiko ist eines der Gründungsmitglieder und seit 2008 musikalischer Leiter der Octavians.

Jakob Rendenbach

Für Jakob war schon früh klar, dass Musik immer der Mittelpunkt seines Lebens sein würde. So nahm er im Alter von 6 Jahren erstmals Klavierunterricht bei Andreas Kasper, welcher ihn bis zum Schulmusikstudium begleitete. Parallel sang er zeitlebens in vielen Chören, unter anderem der Capella poetica, dem Basilikachor St. Paulin Trier, dem Kammerchor der HfM Franz Liszt Weimar und VoCompany und nahm Gesangsunterricht bei Antonia Lutz, Uwe Götz und Martin Ulrich. Mit 18 Jahren gewann er einen Kompositionswettbewerb von KultCrossing. Er ist tätig als Chorleiter, Sänger, Beatboxer, Arrangeur und Musikproduzent, unter anderem für das Vokalensemble picturesque. So fand er 2020 im Zuge einiger Auftragsarrangements den Weg zu den Octavians.

Matthias Mäurer

Neben der musikalischen Grundausbildung an der Jenaer Musikschule ab dem vierten Lebensjahr wurde Matthias vor allem durch die darauf folgende langjährige Mitgliedschaft im Jenaer Knabenchor musikalisch geprägt. Hier erhielt neben der gesanglichen Ausbildung auch Flötenunterricht. Matthias ist ein Gründungsmitglied der Octavians und unterstützt die Gruppe als Moderator bei Konzerten sowie bei organisatorischen Angelegenheiten und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Neben seiner Mitgliedschaft bei den Octavians war Matthias bis 2011 im Jenaer Madrigalkreis.

Clemens Risse

Bereits in seinen ersten Lebensjahren entdeckte Clemens seine Faszination und Leidenschaft für die Musik, was ihn dazu veranlasste, Klavierunterricht an der Musik- und Kunstschule Jena zu nehmen. Im Grundschulalter stellte er sich beim Knabenchor der Jenaer Philharmonie vor und wurde auf diese Weise mit Chor- und Sologesang vertraut gemacht. Mittlerweile kann er auf zehn Jahre musikalischer Ausbildung zurückblicken. Nebenbei fasste Clemens auch im Madrigalkreis Jena Fuß. Der Kammerchor ermöglichte es ihm, einige Projekte mit anderen deutschen Chören und Musikergruppen mitzuerleben. Dies brachte ihm einen großen Erfahrungsgewinn und -austausch ein. Mit den Octavians hat er seit 2017 ein erfolgreiches Ensemble gefunden, mit welchem er seine musikalischen Ziele weiter verfolgen kann.

Christian Gaida

Bereits im Alter von 6 Jahren begann Christian mit dem Geigenspiel und nahm im Rahmen seiner musikalischen Ausbildung an der Musikschule Lutherstadt Wittenberg mehrmals erfolgreich an Wettbewerben wie „Jugend Musiziert“ teil. Eine umfassende weiterführende musikalische Ausbildung erhielt er an der Landesschule Pforta bei Naumburg, wo er im Schulorchester aktiv war. Seine gesanglichen Fähigkeiten bildete er durch individuelle Stimmbildung und als langjähriges Mitglied des Jugendchores der Landesschule aus. Darüber hinaus sang er im Chor unter der Leitung von Kersten Lachmann. Anschließend wurde er Mitglied des Kammerchores der Hochschule Franz Liszt Weimar (2009-2012) unter der Leitung von Prof. Jürgen Puschbeck. Hier arbeitete er unter anderem mit Nicolas Pasquet und dem Thomaskantor Georg Christoph Biller zusammen.

Martin Kleekamp

Mit Martin stieß im Jahre 2009 der erste Sänger zu den Octavians, der nie Mitglied des Knabenchors der Jenaer Philharmonie war. Martin erhielt zuvor eine 6-jährige Klavierausbildung und war viele Jahre bei den Jenaer Jubilee Singers aktiv. Darüber hinaus wirkte er in mehreren Gospel-, Kirchen- und Jugendchören sowie im Leipziger Gewandhauschor mit. Neben seinen gesanglichen Tätigkeiten spielt Martin seit seinem 14. Lebensjahr in verschiedenen Bands E-Bass. Innerhalb der Gruppe engagiert sich Martin insbesondere für organisatorische Angelegenheiten und ist als versierter Techniker bei akustisch verstärkten Konzerten für die Mischung sowie für Tonaufnahmen zuständig.

Johannes Schleußner

Johannes durchlief seine musikalische Ausbildung an der Musik- und Kunstschule Jena und später im Knabenchor der Jenaer Philharmonie. Er war unter anderem Mitglied des Kammerchors der Frauenkirche Dresden und des Kammerchors der Hochschule Franz Liszt Weimar und wirkte projektweise im Kammerchor Dresden und im Gewandhauschor Leipzig mit. Im Zuge seiner sängerischen Laufbahn arbeitete er unter anderen mit Christian Thielemann, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Isaac Karabtchevsky, Jürgen Puschbeck, Matthias Grünert und Gotthold Schwarz zusammen. Johannes ist Gründungsmitglied, hatte jedoch studiumsbedingt die Gruppe 2008 verlassen. Seit 2016 ist er wieder als Bass dabei.